Important information regarding cookies

By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with the Housing Agency Cookie Policy. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy.

Minister O’Sullivan welcomes first meeting of Interim Regulation Committee for AHBs

Minister O’Sullivan welcomes first meeting of Interim Regulation Committee for AHBs
05 Feb 2014

The first meeting of the Interim Regulation Committee for Approved Housing Bodies was held at the Housing Agency on Wednesday February 5th, 2014. In attendance to welcome the new committee was Minister for Housing and Planning, Jan O’Sullivan.

The interim committee will monitor the implementation of the voluntary regulation code for approved housing bodies (AHBs) and will oversee the assessment of participating AHBs in relation to their financial viability, management and government.

The interim committee is a committee under the Housing Agency. A team at the Housing Agency, headed by Rosalind Carroll will be responsible for managing the regulatory function.

The committee will also report to the Minister on the development of a statutory regulatory system over the next few years.

The interim regulatory committee is chaired by Dr. Jennie Donald (Northern Ireland Federation of Housing Associations). The other members of the interim committee are Dr. Oonagh Breen (Sutherland School of Law, UCD), Michael Cameron (Chief Executive, Scottish Housing Regulator), Martina Deans (Tenant Representative), Ann Marie Farrelly (Director of Housing, Fingal County Council), Ronan Heavey (Department of Finance), Gerry Hunt (Chartered Accountant), Eddie Lewis (IPA, Housing Policy Lecturer), Donal McManus (Chief Executive, Irish Council for Social Housing), Dr. Mary Lee Rhodes (TCD, School of Business) and Damian Allen (Department of the Environment, Community & Local Government).


Link to Voluntary Regulatory Code here

Link to DECLG press release here